Wednesday, July 25, 2012

I Wish She Had Drowned

Expected Publication: July 31st, 2012
Pleasures of a Tempted Lady (Donovan Sisters # 3)
By: Jennifer Haymore
ISBN-13: 9780446573160


Captain William Langley knows the ocean well, but nothing could prepare him for what he discovers adrift on the cold Irish Sea. The tiny boat carries two passengers: a child--and Meg Donovan, Will's long-lost love. Meg's disappearance at sea eight years ago was a devastating blow. Now she's back, as beautiful as ever, and with secrets as deep as Will's own . . .

After years held captive by a cold-blooded pirate, Meg has finally escaped with little Jake, the boy she's come to love as if he were her own. But the pirate wants his revenge--and Meg must do whatever it takes to shield Jake from the madman. Determined not to lose Meg again, Will vows to protect them both, yet Meg can't risk putting the only man she's ever loved in danger. With the threat to her safety growing, and her passion for Will burning brighter every day, surrendering herself to Will might be a pleasure too tempting to resist . . .

   This review will be a little different from past ones, as I feel that I honestly have nothing to personally to add to the summary above.  I read the first two books in the series and truly liked Serena (who is masquerading as her twin Meg, who she believes to be dead), Olivia, Jessica and Phoebe.  I loved Serena and truly felt how torn she was about becoming Meg to save her family from ruin.  Phoebe's strength and presence of mind were awesome compare to most historical romance heroines.  I thought that the real Meg would at least be semi-relatable - she was not.  Meg was able to get out of her captor's clutches, be rescued by a handsome captain and returned to her family.  All she could do was complain!  She made ridiculous decisions that supposedly were for the best interests of everyone, trying to solve her problems ineffectually on her own to 'spare' her family.  You can tell that she despises Serena for stealing her identity and  doesn't even want to attempt to understand why she did it, or even that their Mother was the one who originally began the deception.  She is a whining, weak-spined, cold fish of a heroine.  Captain Will Langley was the hero of the story, having waited eight years against all odds for Meg even when she was believed to be dead.  Then when he got her back and she was an ungrateful brat, he still stuck with her and waited for her to wise up.  He's the Wentworth of the paperback, dime-a-dozen set.  I honestly did not really care for most of this book and felt like it was twice as long as it needed to be.  Really glad to be able to say that I finished the series, but I truly wish that Meg would have been worth waiting for.  The fact that I was able to finish and the glimpses of the other characters were the only things that made this book worth reading.  Only attempt if you're determined to finish the series.

VERDICT:  2/5  Stars

*I received an Advanced Reading E-book Copy from the publisher, via NetGalley. No money or favors were exchanged for this review. This book's expected publication date is July 31st, 2012.*

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are much appreciated and I always read them with a smile on my face! :) While I appreciate the thought, this an award-free blog as well. I just don't have the time to keep up with it. Thank you for my smiles and please share your thoughts! Also, sorry for the Captcha, but I've been getting a lot of spam lately!